So many thoughts, so little time to blog

I really need to start blogging from work everyday but some days I just don’t have time. My job continues to keep me busy and make me happy which are both great things. My coworkers and I had noticed a steep incline of soldiers getting chaptered out of the Army. According to the Army Times, the powers that be are finally cracking down on drug and alcohol infractions. They are doing this in part to clean up the Army-remember all those waivers that got in under the last Administration b/c we desperately needed soldiers-but also to tackle the problem of suicides in the ranks. Depression and substance abuse are very closely linked so this rationale has merit. My fear is that some of the local commanders are not referring soldiers to ASAP-substance abuse program-but rather just chaptering them out to “get rid of the problem/” Now yes, many of thses soldiers need to bt put out of the Army but I also think that returning from a deployment is quite stressful which is perhaps why these soldiers are abusing substances. That thinking is also discussed in the article but I can’t post the article b/c I have to pay to subscribe to the Army Times in order to get it from the website and I’m too cheap for that right now :p

bye-bye, Saturn

bye-bye, Saturn


I totaled my car last week. I had a brain fart and I rear ended a Mustang while leaving post to head home. The reason that my car is totaled and the Mustang has scratches is becase the freaking thing was reinforced for racing-internal roll bars, steel reinforced bumber. Yeah, my Saturn didn’t have a fighting chance. If we actually get what the insurance told us, we’ll ba able to pay off the car AND pay off a credit card 🙂 I’ve already decided that we will be aone car family until we PCS out of here. Between my job and the extra $265 (my old car payment) per month, we should be able to put over $1000 into savings, pay off our couch and possibly pay off another credit card before moving. That means we would leave here only owing on 2 credit cards!!!!*happy dance* Owing on only 2 cards would be a mega huge deal for us since we once owed on 9 credit cards. I also want to get my credit fixed-damn you Verizon and your massive error-before we buy another car. FYI-fixing an error on your credit reports can be a huge pain in the ass, even when you have proof to back it up.

I turn 33 in one week and I don’t feel a day over 25. I asked my hubby for 2 things for my birthday-the new DMB CD super deluxe box set and the new Ben Harper and the Relentless 7 CD/DVD set. I’m a simple girl trying to get back to my hippie, chilled out roots. Ben Harper and DMB was one of the best concerts of my life. Ahh, the carefree days of college…..

We have a grill now and it rocks my world. I haven’t cooked meat in over a week because that is now hubby’s job 🙂 He marinades it and cooks it; I cook sides while the meat is grilling. Best thing ever!! So far we’ve had steak, burgers, blackened salmon (delicious!), carne asada and BBQ chicken. This week I think that will we have shrimp, fish, a Mexican dish and something yet to be decided. I will be spending plenty of time on the internet today searching for grilling recipes and side dish ideas.

We are still rolling along on the infertility train. This month I am giving up tobacco and alcohol all together. Yes, yes, I realize that it’s late in the game to give up those things but I had drastically cut down on both over the past year. I’ve already given up aspartame, saccharin, soy (for the most part-soy is in almost everything!), caffeine, MSG and I’ve been trying to buy organic whenever possible. I’ve started drinking green tea, cut down on sugar and increased the amount of fruit and veggies that I eat. I’ve also cut out all citrus fruits because of the effect they can have on cervical mucous. I’m still counting down the days until we see the RE in Alexandria. Please, oh please let IUI not be crazy expensive on TriCare and please let it be a viable option for us.

I hear that a new iPhone is coming out this summer. I must have it.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “So many thoughts, so little time to blog

  1. Jen

    That’s sucks that you totaled your car! Are you going to see Dr. Storment for your RE? If it is, the IUI will be $350. I’m not sure on the collection of the swimmers as we had to cryo-freeze which is an additional $150. I am so excited that I just hit my mark for the basic costs of in-vitro. I’ve been working a second job this year in case I we had to do in-vitro. After ten months I have finally saved enough! I am doing a huge happy dance for that. 🙂

    Take care!

  2. liberalgranolagirl

    That’s awesome that you’ve got some of the money saved!!! Are y’all doing IVF here or at Wilford Hall in San Antonio? We are hoping and praying that IVF works. If not we will probably try to get stationed at Ft. Lewis or Ft. Bragg where we can get IVF done on post.

    • Jen

      We’re doing the in-vitro with Storment. What’s the deal with doing it in San Antonio? How much do you pay? Where’d you find this information?

      • liberalgranolagirl

        It’s an MTF in San Antonio that does IVF. There are actually a few MTFs that do IVFs at a reduced cost for service members. The typical estimate is $4500 per IVF cycle whichis usually lower than civilian drs. We are planning to do IVF if IUI doesn’t work but where we do it depends on where we PCS tonext year. If we are still here and need to do IVF, we will be doing it at San Antonio. I am really hoping that we will be at Ft. Bragg or Ft. Lewis, both of which have IVF programs.

        HOw much will IVF cost through Dr. Storment?

  3. Jen

    The basic procedure is $7500, but there are some other things that can cost beyond that. Since the medication was paid for by the military coverage, it saves a lot of money as it is about $3000 for the medications. If you have left over eggs from the first try (which is common), it is about $1500 for the second round.

    I had heard about the procedure being done in San Antonio before, but I could found out much information about it through the internet. Where did you get your info?

    We’re PCSing in October to Fort Leonard Wood (Missouri) for a school for about six months. After that, we’ll see. We would really like to go to Europe somewhere and the benefit of that is that the in-vitro cycles there are much less with average costs about $3000. My husband was at Bragg for eight years and loved it, so if we go there, I would be happy. He hates the west coast (although I’m from Cali :)), so I doubt we’ll end up at Lewis. lol.

    He’s home right now on R&R right now, for at least another couple of days. I’ve gone through everything alone this year which kind of sucks! Thankfully, my sister is coming down for the summer and plans to stay through the in-vitro with me. I don’t think I’m very needy, but I am so very grateful that she will be here. She’s bringing out some of the gluten free food that I use to eat when I lived out there which I’m excited about. I saw that you were talking about that and had complete sympathy because it is impossible to that stuff out here! I’m not going completely gluten free, but I’m reducing the amount dramatically. We’ll see if it helps!

  4. Jen

    By the way, my hubby bought me the new iphone on Friday – LOVE it! I’ve wanted one since the first ones came out. 😀

  5. liberalgranolagirl

    I just realized I never replied to this! I got my info from my on post dr as well as from a random message board-I wasn’t a memeber just found it when I Googled IUI and military. It’s around $4500 at a MTF but with the travelling, hotels, etc getting it done with Storment would be much better IMO =)

    Yep, the iPhone ROCKS!!!!

Leave a Reply

