On the road to making a baby

So yesterday we had an appointment with Dr. S, our RE. Let me say that so far I love him and his staff. Seriously, they are awesome and completely put my mind at ease. my only complaint is that I wish that his office was closer but we live in the middle of BFE so I can deal with it.

If all goes as planned we will be doing an IUI next month. Dr. S said that if I do not have a positive OPK in 4 days that I would start taking progesterone to make AF come. One the first day of AF I will call his office and they will schedule me to come in for baseline bloodwork and ultrasounds. If the u/s and bloodwork are ok (he thinks that they will be) then I will start taking Femara and will start using the injectable Follistim. I will be monitored via u/s and bloodwork to see if I am developing mature follicles and if I ovulate. If the follicles look good then I will get a trigger shot to induce ovulation and then we will have the IUI. Of course the medications that I will be taking increase the risk of multiples but as most of you know, I am totally ok if we have twins =)

I can’t even begin to explain how optimisitc and great I feel after that initial appointment. He told me that I have received great treatment from Dr. M-the military dr I was seeing-and that he would’ve done the exact same treatment. He also said that he would not need to repeat any of the tests, including the laparoscopy which was a huge relief to me. Finally after 2 years, 5 months and 8 days I might actually really have a chance at getting pregnant. Dare I hope that it will happen quickly?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “On the road to making a baby

  1. I am on the infertility journey too! Good luck

  2. Jen

    I am so glad that you liked Dr. S! It seems like you made your appointment so long ago, I’m glad it has finally come around for you. I agree that the drive BLOWS! Especially right now, it is killing me because I have so many appointments for IVF. One thing I wish I had done was to get reimbursed for the travel from Tri-care. Apparently, since it is more than 100 miles from home, they will pay you per a mile. At first I didn’t think it would be a big deal, so I never bothered. However, looking back over the past year, I really wish I had done that because it adds up.

    Also, the benefit of driving all the way to Lafayette is that there are some good restaurants and shopping! The Mall of Acadiana is right there on Ambassador Caffery and there is that huge Super Target on the same road. Right around the mall there is a Barnes and Noble if you want a nice book store. 🙂 Also on Ambassador Caffery there is a Mexican restaurant called Posados which has great homemade tortillas. I’ve also tried going to Cafe Roma for some yummy Italian.

    Take care and if you have any questions let me know!

Leave a Reply

