Too old to drink….

I am hungover and don’t like it. Note to self, do NOT try to drink an entire family size bottle of pinot grigio by yourself. It ends with you passing out in bed and apparently sleeping with your neck completely contorted, which causes you to have a terrible crick in it the next day. You also end up with a terrible hangover headache. Must remember moderation.

I am making a grocery list full of fertility boosting foods and trying to come up with a menu for the week. Here’s what I’ve got so far:
Tonight-Ground turkey tacos, rice and refried beans. I’m even going to get some guacamole.
Monday-Crockpot chicken salsa (recipe to follow-can’t remember if I’ve posted it before)
Tuesday-leftovers
Now I just have to come up with the rest of the week. We’ll probably try steak fajitas one night. When we did those last week I bought the wrong cut of steak and they weren’t as good. Actually, the fajitas will probably make 2 meals, woohoo 🙂

I’m also going to start planning my lunches for work rather than just grabbing stuff. I’ll do taco salad with tonight’s leftovers. I’m going to do a yummy spinach salad with walnuts, red onions and mandarin oranges. Snacks are going to be fruits, cheese and nuts. Apparently I need to be eating whole fat dairy products, too so I’ll be getting some yogurt since I’m allergic to milk. *No, not lactose intolerant. Milk makes me sneeze and have sinus congestion. Yes, I’m weird.

I cannot imagine going through this infertility struggle without the support of friends and family. I got the most wonderful email from my oldest brother this morning. He is currently in Afghanistan as a contractor and takes the time to read my blog. I love you, Lonnie ❤ My online friends on Twitter, Army Wife Chat and Fertility Community are wonderful. I know that some people choose to keep their IF struggles private but I just can’t imagine doing that. I would be lost with the support from my family and friends.

So here’s to starting the journey toward our 2nd IUI 🙂

ETA-Crockpot Chicken Salsa recipe:
4 frozen chicken breasts
2 cans black beans – drained and rinsed
1 bag frozen corn
1 jar salsa (your choice, we like it spicey)
1 block cream cheese (I use the 1/3 less fat version)
Cumin to taste

Put everything except cream cheese in crockpot (be sure chicken is frozen). Cook on high 6 – 8 hours. When there are about 30 minutes remaining, drop in cream cheese. If I’m home, I’ll stir while cooking. To shred chicken – stir it all up towards the end. Blend in cream cheese and serve over tortilla chips, over rice or with tortillas – or with anything else you’d like! We like to top it with sour cream and cheese when we serve it over rice 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Too old to drink….

  1. I full heartedly agree. Could not go through this without talking about it and having the support of friends and family. Your chicken salsa recipe sounds delish, might have to give it a go!

    And here’s to Liberal military wifes (as I’m one of them although my Hubster is recently retired) and to remembering the thing about not drinking a bag in the box all by yourself 🙂

Leave a Reply

