It’s Friday and…..

I’m sick. For the love of everything good, if it’s not side effects from fertility drugs it’s something else. I have a stomach virus with a low grade fever…I feel like a train hit me. It’s 73 degrees and humid and I am sitting around in a sweatshirt. I really hope that I feel better before the end of the weekend so that I can make this fertility boosting quiche from mommyland.

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about what kind of mommy I want to be and what kind of birth I want. I like the idea of a homebirth but with our zoo of animals I think that it would be more stressful for me b/c I know that at least one of my dogs would be trying to get into the birthing pool with me. I do know that I want NO drugs at all and would prefer a birthing center over a hospital. I want the process to be as natural, stress free and organic as possible. Even if we get pregnant with twins, I want to try and have them naturally if at all possible. I don’t want lots of bright lights, loud talking strangers in the room. I want to hold our baby(ies) immediately after delivery, not 10-15 minutes after. I don’t want anyone to give formula to our baby(ies), I want to do my job and breastfeed. We will not be vaccinating according to the current vaccine schedule but will be doing them according to the vaccine schedule form the early 1980s. We will not spank.

I’m going to make my own baby food (organic when possible) and use cloth diapers and wipes. I will wear my baby(ies) is a sling when I have them and ideally will have them skin to skin with me when possible. I want to be a SAHM (stay at home mom) but that is just not at all financially possible so I will carefully choose a daycare provider for them and will find a job that doesn’t require me to regularly work overtime. Ideally I’d like to work in a school system so that I would have summers and other holidays off to spend with my family.

We will introduce our furbabies and skin baby(ies) as soon as possible. We will not be one of those couples that tosses aside our furbabies when we have finally have skin babies. People who do that infuriate me. Our furbabies are part of our family and have gotten me through countless BFNs and most recently a failed IUI. We already know that 3 of our 4 dogs are good with babies (Bear, the coonhound, just hasn’t been around babies yet) and our cats are good too. We will teach our children how to treat and not to treat animals so that they hopefully will grow up to love them as we do.

That’s all I have right now but I know that I’ll have more when we finally get knocked up. I guess one of the positives of taking so long to get pregnant is that we have had PLENTY of time to discuss this matters and agree on them.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “It’s Friday and…..

  1. Becca-

    Reading your post is beginning to make me rethink my stance of just not planning for being a parent because it make me sad.

    Before I found out about the while IF thing I was starting to think about things like how and where to give birth and all that fun stuff. Then I stopped.

    Maybe I’ll start thinking about it again – fertile or not. I think that I had pretty much decided to do the same things you’re talking about 🙂 I’m not military associated but I’m pretty damn granola!

    Here’s to having babies!

  2. shaka

    I love your plan. I’m so happy for your future babies. ❤

    I'm about to start school to be a teacher so when the kids are in school I can have the same sched too!

  3. Have a homebirth! “They” recommend that your dogs not be there when you give birth just so they don’t associate the baby with trauma, so plan a playdate for them that day or someone who will take them to the park and/or for the night. I’m having one for sure! I have a lay midwife in my family though and its been a part of my life since I was a child.

Leave a Reply

