Ovaries and oranges

Today’s appointment was interesting and good. My b/w gal forgot that she stuck me on Wednesday (she was obviously not in a good mood on Wed…..my guess is a fight with her man) and the u/s tech-the one that basically called me “puffy” on Wed-remarked that my ovaries were the size of oranges. For those who don’t know, ovaries are normally the size of nuts. She said this during the internal u/s, in passing while measuring follicles. She also said that I need to drink plenty of water and Gatorade , which is odd because I had not even told her that I had been dehydrated for a few days (despite drinking like 100 oz of water/watered down Gatorade a day). I’m guessing that the huge ovaries go with the whole dehydration thing. I’ve already had over 100 oz today and I’m still thirsty…hopefully I don’t pee all night. FYI, you can completely see my swollen ovaries-they are quite obvious when looking at my belly without a shirt covering it. Comfortable, no. Worth it if I get preg, HELL YEAH.

About my follicles, we have 3 good ones measuring 18, 18 and 20 šŸ™‚ P gave me the trigger shot (HcG) at 6pm tonight per dr’s orders and we will have the IUI on Sunday at 9am. Our current plan is to do the IUI, eat breakfast at a local sit down restaurant in Lafayette and then maybe shop a bit in Lafayette. This cycle has been different for me. I have not been freaking out or anxious at all. I know what to expect this time which is calming for me. I knew that the Follistim injections were not painful; that they would cause swelling; that I’d be more fatigued from them and that I would have very occasional hot flashes. I knew that my ovaries might be slow to respond and that I might have to do injections a bit longer. I knew that the HcG shot would hurt like a bitch and to expect it to make me pee more often. All in all I just feel better about this cycle. Even if we don’t get a BFP at least I’m getting more comfortable with the process. And yes, I will still bawl my eyes out and get drunk off wine and/or tequila if this one doesn’t work.

P is getting more and more into the process which is great. I mean, he’s always been into it but he seems to be more invested in it this month. He called me as soon as I left the dr’s office asking me about follicle size-it made me smile šŸ™‚ He told me that if I didn’t get knocked up this month that he “wasn’t gonna be nice about it”-relax, he was joking and knew it would make me laugh, which it did. He didn’t flinch when I told him that we have to get the RE’s office at 8am on Sunday, even though that means us getting up at 4:30am on a day when he can typically (and deservedly) sleep in. It all made me smile. He’s as excited, anxious and as invested in this as I am.

For those who are new to my blog, he has a 3 1/2 year old son by his first marriage. We don’t get to see C (never have seen him) b/c of distance and b/c C’s mother is…um, a bitter girl. We have no visitation rights (don’t get me started on how CA used the Army against us) and she’s already said that she’ll not allow me to see C even if she lets P. We send gifts and P calls/texts for updates. The ex will not even send us pictures. This makes the whole infertility thing more difficult for me b/c I want so badly for him to experience being a father since he hasn’t really gotten that with C.

Of course P is eternally positive and assures me that I will get pregnant and that he will be there for the birth, even though the Army can be unpredictable. I choose to think that he is right. We will get pregnant before we move to Colorado. P will be here to experience the preg and birth. This time next yr we will be either parents or parents to be. If I say it enough and believe, it will come true, right?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Ovaries and oranges

  1. Jen

    Yay! Good job follies! That 8 am run is NOT fun, but it will be worth it! Nurse Suzanne told me about some good breakfast place down Kaliste Saloon…Broken Egg? It’s in the River Ranch complex. Plus there is always IHOP! šŸ™‚

    I can’t believe that he doesn’t have visitation rights because of the Army. That’s just sad. My heart goes out to both of you!

    So in the meantime, have a great weekend! Relax a bit and go get knocked up!

  2. liberalgranolagirl

    That’s where we plan to eat šŸ™‚ Suzanne had told us about it too. I’m excited about trying it!

Leave a Reply

