Google is the devil

Since we are between treatments I’ve taken this time to apparently Google everything possible about IUI, IVF, the success rates of both and the cost of IVF. All I can say is wow. I mean yeah, I knew it was expensive but when you see “we can help finance payments lower than a second car payment” regarding IVF and an assistance program, the cost really hits home.

I’ve been tossing around the idea of IVF, in my head, because the success rates are so much greater for IVF than IUI. But shit, the cost is outrageous. The only way possible for us to EVER afford IVF is to stash away money during P’s next deployment, then as soon as he gets back, ask the Army to move us to a post that does IVF at the military hospital. Paying $5000 vs $15,000 is a lot easier for me to stomach. Of course I will be over 35 by then so there’s a whole other issue to deal with. UGH.

Yeah, and that deployment thing is looming over our heads. Without being specific, P will most likely be home for Christmas next year so we have XX months to get pregnant. As if infertility wasn’t full of enough stress, now we are on a real time limit.

Ok, vent/freak out over. Back to towrk I go and I will not Google anything related to IVF, IUI or infertility for the rest of the day.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Google is the devil

  1. Jen

    That’s one of my favorite things about the Army….they won’t pay for IVF or IVF drugs, and they also won’t actually let our husbands be home to try while we are still young enough for it to work. My husband has spent 3 out of the last 6 year deployed. Hmmm. Any correlation…I’m just bitter when I think about it that way.

    • liberalgranolagirl

      Yeah, I get bitter too. Especially when I go to the commissary and see the wives with 5 kids running around.

      *hugs* for all of us IF ladies ❤

  2. Wow, I can’t even imagine what you are going through with the added stress of your husband being away. The two of you are clearly very strong people and I admire the way that you seem to be able to handle this. I agree that the internet, while helpful, can also be my worst enemy. I’m happy it’s brought me to blogging, but at the same time, there’s too many scary things it tells me too.

    So, I hope you’re not reading this immediately since you swore off anything IF for the rest of the day – hope your day was filled with other fun things!

    • liberalgranolagirl

      I didn’t read this til today 🙂 The only IF related thing I did last night was email family.

      Thank you 🙂 Yeah, the whole time limit thing adds a different level of stress but at the same time I try not to get too worked up about it. I mean, there’s nothing we can do about it so I don’t want to dwell on it. Sometimes it creeps in and rears it’s ugly head, though.

  3. Amaprincess

    HUGS! IVF isn’t an option for us either. There is no way we can afford $11,000 dollars on something that is “a chance”.

    They say that IUI’s can take a couple of cycles to work. Don’t give up!

  4. I think you are a much stronger lady than i could ever imagine being…
    The last three days have been so hard for me because my husband has been away, so i sit here and i can not even imagine what it must be like for you and others going through this without your husbands there by your side.

    I have an amazing amount of respect not only for you but for your husband as well, and i know that it wont change anything, but i think that ‘army wives’ should have fertility treatments for free… seeing what your doing for your country…

    Remember that while IVF is ridiculously priced, it is the end result that you are wanting, and when my husband and i made the decision to go ahead with ivf we took the finance out of the equation, and made the decision based on emotions… may sound silly, but somehow we found the money by selling stuff (as it really is simply stuff) and giving up unnecessary luxury’s (like pizza and those shoes that you ‘have to have’)…

    I hope and pray that in the precious little time you have a little miracle happens for you…

    “HOPE sees the invisible, feels the intangible and achieves the impossible.” Anon

  5. I’ve nominated you for the Kreativ Blogger Award! Please check out the post on my blog!

Leave a Reply

