Fertility Diet, so far

Ok, I read 80 pages of The Fertility Diet and so far I am loving it. It makes a lot of sense and it explains things very clearly. The chapters I’ve gotten through cover carbs, fat. PCOS and the specifics of fertility. I’ll try to share some of that knowledge with y’all but I won’t have details right now because I left the book in the car and I’m too lazy to get it right now :-p

Nutritionally speaking, here’s a short breakdown of what I’ve learned about fats: poly- and monounsaturated fats are good and we should eat them. Saturated fats are bad (except dairy-need one full fat serving/day to increase fertility. Avoid low- and no fat dairy) and trans fats are the devil. Seriously, the US needs to ban trans fats. One reputable health/medical association (can’t remember which one and again I am too lazy to get the book at the moment) estimates that approximately 260,000 heart related incidents could be avoided every year if we just banned trans fats. Seriously, it’s so gross when you read about how it’s made, how it’s used and what it does to your body. Not only is is bad for your cardiovascular system, it is also SOOOOOOO very bad for women’s reproductive systems. Like, terrible bad. I was amazed. And I was amazed at how little-only 4g per day-could adversely affect my reproductive system. I was also amazed at how it’s in SOOOOOOO many prepared foods. And did you know that if a food has .5g or less, the company can STILL package it as having 0g of trans fat?! So that means lots of label reading, people. The key phrase to avoid is “partially hydrogenated”-MEMORIZE THAT. Here’s the American Heart Association’s info page on trans fats.

Now on to carbs. A few years ago South Beach and Atkins diets had me avoiding carbs. Boy was I wrong. We NEED carbs, especially the complex carbs that are slow to breakdown. And guess what? We PCOS-ers especially need to be careful about carbs. We need to focus on avoiding simple carbs-white sugars, white bread, potatoes, etc.-and eating complex carbs such as oatmeal, beans, barley, whole grain breads, whole grain pasta, brown rice, whole fruits, veggies, etc. Insulin resistance is a big problem if you have PCOS (as evidenced by the belly mush that is HANGING ON FOR DEAR LIFE even though I am working out) so avoiding the insulin rollercoaster by eating slow carbs is very important to us. Plus, everyone needs good carbs to have energy, good brain functioning and to just enjoy life!

The specifics of making babies was…..very detailed and actually eye opening. There are so many things that have to happen correctly in order for a pregnancy occur; it surprises me that anyone actually gets pregnant without trying. It’s like all the stars have to properly align, you have to stand on one foot, do a special dance, toss some salt over your shoulder and sing a special song in order for sperm to actually meet egg.

I promise to do more updates as I read the Fertility Diet and implement the 10 tips. I already eat a serving of full fat dairy everyday; exercise on a regular basis; avoid trans fats; and have decreased bad carbs. Only a few more tips to implement! Oh, and I will review the recipes that I try and post them here to share with everyone. If any of y’all have any fertility boosting recipes, please feel free to share them on here in the comments 🙂

Ok, bed time. I can hardly think straight. Hope that the heat works b/c it’s COLD tonight.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Fertility Diet, so far

  1. Very interesting. Thanks for sharing. Looking forward to hearing more.

  2. I’m looking forward to reading your updates. We’ve already changed a lot about how we eat after reading “Fast Food Nation” and then seeing “Food Inc”. My general rule while in the grocery store: If my great-grandmother wouldn’t recognize it – don’t eat it (i.e. processed foods).

  3. This is very interesting! Thank you for sharing this – and please share more when you can!! 🙂

  4. LIsa

    I would seriously consider reading The Infertility Cure by Dr. Randine Lewis. http://www.amazon.com/Infertility-Cure-Ancient-Wellness-Pregnant/dp/0316172294 It absolutely changed my life. It is coming from an Eastern perspective of traditional chinese medicine so there are some big differences with the Fertility Diet, mostly NO dairy. But the diets are vey specific to your particular condition, where you are in your monthly cycle, your IUI/IVF cycle and beyond. I am a former patient of SGFC with a 9 mo old son, and I can say that the diet, acupuncuture, yoga and positive thinking, along with the western program, got me to where I am today.

    • liberalgranolagirl

      I actually have this book and got pretty far into it. My only issue with it was that accoring to the self tests I had so many issues that the recommendations contradicted themselves. I would love to see an actual expert in TCM but unfortunately insurance doesn’t pay anything and I would have to travel very far to see one. I will definitely be picking the book back up and when we move to a bigger place I will be starting acupuncture 🙂

Leave a Reply

