Our Thanksgiving spread

For my friends across the ocean, The history of American Thanksgiving.

Crock pot turkey breast. We don’t serve with rice but I might try that the next time I make this.

Sweet potato casserole. LOVE this recipe!

Green bean casserole. So yummy and easy.

Pumpkin pie. I used a premade crust and 1Tbsp of pumpkin pie spice instead of all the separate spices.

I’m also making my Momma’s cornbread dressing:
Ingredients:
a batch of cornbread
half a loaf of bread, dried in the oven (I use whole grain or wheat)
chicken broth (I think it’s about 4 cups)
chopped onion
melted butter (no idea how much, I just taste and add ’til it tastes right)
salt, pepper and sage to taste

Tear up the bread and cornbread-put in a large bowl. Add the next 3 ingredients and mix together. Once mixed, add the salit, pepper and sage. I taste it the entire time to see how much to add. I love sage so I tend to use a lot. Put it all into a large greased casserole dish-or 2 smaller ones-and bake on 350 for about 30 minutes. I serve it topped with gravy 🙂

My Momma’s cornbread dressing is always a hit with friends and my hubs. I love it and could eat it year round. I am so thankful that my Momma had me in the kitchen with her as I was growing up. She has the most amazing cooking ability and so many memories were made ❤

Hope that all of you have a wonderful Thanksgiving day 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Our Thanksgiving spread

  1. Lisa

    Sounds yummy 🙂

    Enjoy!

  2. Happy Thanksgiving to you too!

  3. Mmm, I’ve never tried making a green bean casserole. I may have to now.

Leave a Reply

