No more Christmas for us

I’ve also had issues with celebrating “Christmas”. I grew up in a home and in a church that didn’t recognize it as a religious holiday, so calling it that and even celebrating it has seemed weird to me as an adult. We didn’t celebrate as a religious holiday for many reasons and it has always irked me when people refer to Jesus as the real reason for the season and act like I’m wrong for NOT celebrating Jesus’s birthday (of course we clal nkow that he wasn’t born in December). I think what has always gotten to me the most is that Christmas, or Christ-Mass, is a Christian made holiday to help convince Pagans to convert. Basically, the church stole the holiday frmo the Pagans.

After much thought and talking with Pagan friends of mine, P and I are now celebrating Winter Solsitce instead. We will continue to celebrate this holiday rather than Christmas and we will pass it on to our future children and grandchildren. I plan to teach them about the origins and traditions as well as research any traditions that might be specifc to Celtics. I found this Winter Solstice celebration guide from circlesanctuary.org and MoonChildren has several different links about Winter Solstice, the celebrations, the origins, and all that jazz. When looking at the origins and celebrations last night, I realized that THIS, not the C word is the holiday for us. I am already planning our Solstice celebrations, including giving something back. We will be donating to an environmental group as part of our giving back this year. I want to do the candle ceremony, the wreath, the yule log if possible and most everything listed on the celebration page.

I am also researching about being Christian and Pagan or if that is even possible. I am so interested in Paganism, its beliefs, origins and traditions. I have been referred to some great books that I plan to possibly buy so that I can learn more. I’ve been interested in Paganism for a long time, just have never taken the time to actually research it enough.

So, I hope all of my blog readers have a wonderful Winter Solstice and I promise to post more about our celebrations when we have them πŸ™‚

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “No more Christmas for us

  1. Lisa

    The last week or so I have been thinking about writing a post about people getting upset about the use of happy holidays instead of merry christmas. It drives me nuts and I have been seeing stuff about it on facebook lately. As if saying happy holidays and including everyone makes you a bad person.

    Excellent post from you, as always. πŸ™‚

  2. Love the post, thank you. I celebrate Winter Solstice myself and have been boycotting Christmas for a long time. πŸ˜€

  3. liberalgranolagirl

    Lisa, I have been seeing the same type of thing on FB. It is partly what inspired me to write thispost. And tahnk you for the compliment πŸ™‚

    thefrugalvegan, Thanks! THis is new to me so if you have any ideas on the celebrating of Winter Solstice, I’m all ears πŸ™‚

  4. liberalgranolagirl

    I also want to add that I don’t think that anyone is wrong for celebrating Christmas and I’m not offended by it. It’s just not for me I am happy to finally feel not conflicted during this holiday time. The only time I get irritated is when those who celebrate Christmas act like that’s the only holiday celebrated during the season, when in fact there are several in this time of the year.

  5. Hubby and I celebrate the season in general. I love the idea of gift giving as it teaches us all to think of others. We don’t celebrate out of any religious obligations or beliefs.

    I have a co-worker who goes on and on about “not being allowed to say Merry Xmas”. I have tried to explain to her several times that no one is telling her that she can’t say it. But I ask her to understand that not everyone will say it back.

    It’s a shame that there can be such ill will.

Leave a Reply

