A renewed commitment

I have completely slacked off with the working out. I simply cannot do 6 days in a row like P90X and Tony Horton want me to do. Things come up and before I know it, I haven’t worked out in 3 days and I feel like a loser.

I wasn’t getting the results I wanted a far as my abs go when I was doing P90x. Having PCOS makes it even more difficult to lose the belly pooch. Seriously, those damn fat cells on my belly are so incredibly stubborn. Tonight I started thinking back to when I was in my best shape. It was about 8 years ago when I was working at a health club. I worked out 3 days on and 1 day off. I didn’t have a completely flat tummy but it was close. Also, I was running at this point which seriously seems to be the only way that I lose belly fat. So I am going back to my workout roots.

I am going to start the 3 days on and 1 day off. It will look like this-the first 3 days will be weights and abs, cardio, weights and abs. Then there will be the rest day. The next 3 days will be cardio and abs, weights, cardio and abs. The weights and abs will still be P90X workouts but the cardio will be running for 55 minutes at the gym. I am hopeful that this routine will help burn off the pooch and muffin top that I have developed. And don’t worry, I will not run during the 2ww after the IUI. I will stick to the elliptical machine or power walking during that time. On my rest day I will do a 35 minute (or longer) prenatal yoga workout and I will start doing a 15 minute prenatal yoga workout in the mornings before work. Yoga truly centers me and reminds me to focus on me and the mind body connection. I love it.

So there it is. I have a renewed commitment to exercise and making myself healthier. I pretty much got the eating part (including the fertility smoothie that I am starting this week) but now I need to crack down on the exercise part. I can do this. The healthier that I get now, the better it will be for me and the baby when I get pregnant. That’s right, I said when and not if 🙂

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “A renewed commitment

  1. joceycakes

    HI there! Funny how 1 day turns into 2, then 3… Good luck on your new commitment! I’ve made a healthy one as well for this year, I’m sure we can both do it! Have a great Sunday,
    -Jocelyn

  2. Speaking from the depths of bad eating AND not exercising, I needed to read this.

    Here’s to a renewed commitment!

  3. I’m renewing my own committment starting tomorrow morning, glad to see I’m not the only one who has fallen off the wagon!

    What is a fertility smoothie??

  4. running is the bomb, that is the only thing i am complaining about… not being allowed to run, i havent run in about 50 days… i LOVE running, but i will love being a mother more!

    Just FYI, while you are doing the 2ww, do not get hot, embryo’s dont like heat… and no ab work either, you can make the embryo ‘pop’ out – this is what happened to me my first IVF round….

    Just sayin….

    Wishing you all the best with your renewed commitment, and even more for your third IUI, you will be in my prayers…

    PS you should see my rear at the moment, well not really, but fat stores… OMG here we come!

    lots of love comin your direction *HUGS*

  5. WaitingLisa

    As soon as I am healed, Adam and I are getting a pool membership. Not excited about it, but it needs to happen.

    I am always amazed by you.

  6. I need to renew my committment – I love how dedicated you are to health and fitness!

Leave a Reply

