And I’m Zen Again

For whatever reason, I am totally back to being zen-like again. The move no longer freaks me out and neither does the IUI coming up. I have no idea why….maybe it’s because P is now in freak out mode right now. In fact, the only thing I am remotely stressing about right now is my weight, which I cna’t do anything about right now. Damn you fertility drugs for making 12-15 lbs heavier.

As I was thinking today, I realized that many of my readers might not know what it’s like to do a military move. Before I married P, I always just moved myself (well, except for the move from AL to GA-I hired movers) so 2 yrs ago was my first military move. I learned from it and now feel more prepared for this upcoming move. Without further babbling I will give y’all a little breakdown of an Army move.

There are 3 possible types of moves: DITY (do it yourself) move, partial DITY and full Army move. With the full Army move, the Army arranges for a company to pack up 100% of your belongings one day and then arranges for movers to pick up the packed belongings a day or so later. You do nothing but watch them pack, load your things and then unload them at your new place in your new city.

With a DITY move, you pack, load and unload yourself (or pay someone else to do it). There is some reimbursement that happens based on the pounds packed and the miles driven but I don’t know the details because I refuse to do it this way. I am not a fan of packing. I hate it. Seriously.

We are doing a partial DITY move to Colorado. We will be renting a U-Haul trailer (not a reimbursable cost) and loading some of our stuff (mattress, furbaby supplies, a TV, X-Boxes, some clothes, things that the Army packers/movers won’t pack) into it. We will get paid a certain amount per pound so we will have to weigh the trailer empty and full and save the receipts. We also keep track of the miles driven so that we can get reimbursed for that too. I believe that we also get a per diem for the days that we are on the road to pay for our meals but I can’t remember for sure. You turn in all the receipts at your new military post and then get paid within a couple of weeks (as long as they don’t lose your paperwork a million times).

With any of theses moves you get paid a Dislocation Allowance, DLA. The DLA is to help you pay for a deposit, rent, closing costs, etc. You get 80% up front and then 20% when you get to your new military post.

In addition to all this, when we get to the new Army post we’ll need to check in with various offices on post, including insurance, to be sure that they have our new address and contact numbers.

Some people complain about moving frequently when you are in the military but I really don’t stress about it. Other than the small amount of stuff that we take ourselves, we don’t have to pack anything. I also plan to let the movers unpack most of the boxes at our new home because that is something else that I just don’t like doing.

In other moving news, I am 95% sure that I will have a full time job when I get there πŸ™‚ I am trying to transfer with my employer and until this week my only option was to transfer there to an “on call” position. Well, last week I got a heads up that a full time position was opening yesterday. I submitted my resume and will be interviewing (over the phone) with the office next week. I am (and have been) praying so hard to get this job. I would be doing the same thing that I am doing now-working with soldiers-and I love it.

I’m also 95% sure that we will have a house to rent when we get there. Through a friend I had found a home that a couple had just moved out of. I looked at the pictures online and it’s perfect for us AND has a huge backyard. Originally the rental company told us that May was the available date but they emailed me back today and told me that we could move into the house in early April. I have completed the rental application and will be faxing it to them as soon as P can sign it. Again, this has been something that I have been praying for every night. It will be such a relief if we can move straight into a home without having to live in a hotel for a week or more. Plus, our dogs will LOVE having a huge backyard to play in πŸ™‚

Tonight will be night 4 of the 150 iu Follistim injections. This month I have been having some AF like spotting since Saturday. No cramping or anything but I’m not liking it. I’m going to it mention it to the RE on Thursday when I go in for my date with Wandy. I haven’t really been giving much thought to this IUI, probably because of all of the other stuff that we have going on. I like not thinking about it. I’ve still been listening to Circle+Bloom each night and having a daily cup of pregnancy tea but other than that I haven’t been dwelling on it. When I do think about it I am trying my best to only think positive BFP thoughts πŸ™‚

I like being zen-like again. It’s so much better for me than being stressed, sad and angry. I just feel better all around when I’m calm.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “And I’m Zen Again

  1. It sounds like everything is falling into place with you. I hope the move goes well and that you get the job and the hosue!

  2. I’m so glad to hear you got your zen back. I love reading your posts (zen or not-so-zen) but the ones with zen have such a sense of organized joy & that makes me πŸ™‚ ❀ u!

  3. I’ve clearly got too dirty a mind, the phrase “things that the Army packers/movers won’t pack” made me think of just one (or two) battery powered things.

    Maybe having lots of distractions from the IUI is a good thing – I hope so!

  4. I am very happy for you, believe me when I say I have continued to follow your struggles and continually hoped for nothing but the best for you and yours.

    Congrats on the move, new adventures await!

  5. What’s your job now?

  6. We did a full move ourselves and it’s already done with when we went to Oklahoma. We put everything in storage besides my tv(have it with us) PC and PC desk and his army stuff for deploymwnt. I’m so glad we have it out the way. We are back in Colorado with airmatress bed, tv and netbook. It was kinda stressful during but now I’m glad it’s over. And most the houses in Colorado have huge back yards and are nice houses. We have 3 bedroon 2 baths, 2 car garge and HUGE back yard with private fence. You’ll love it here! We’ll be able to meet and hang out a few times before we leave, if you want.

  7. brittanyib

    I’m so glad the house worked out for you! That’s the worse thing about moving for me, trying to find a new house when we’re so far away. Btw, I’m the same way-I freak out until B freaks out, and then I just stop worrying LOL. Hope everything continues to go well with the move/house/job/etc!

  8. I am so stoked for that all this move stuff is falling into place and that you’ll have an awesome job and house when you get to Colorado! So glad you are back in your happy place. I will continue to send you lots of positive bfp vibes!

  9. Thanks for explaining how a military move works! I have always been curious about how the Army takes care of things like that. It sounds like things are really falling into place–especially with the job and house. Sending lots of positive vibes your way!

  10. Major props to you for keeping your calm thru all this. You’re definitely a force to be reckoned with, handling all that and more! I really hope everything works out for you.

  11. I love how everything’s falling into place πŸ™‚
    I hope when you and Wandy get together you get a great report! Also – that moving system sounds so intense…I love how much help is involved! Can’t believe it’s almost here!

Leave a Reply

