We are here and I am fat

I am blogging from my iphone because I am too tired to get up and get my lap top :-p

We made it to Colorado Springs last night and I love it! I love the mountains, the parks, the restaurants and everything I’ve seen so far. I can’t wait to explore the city even more! We’re limited to what we can do right now because we still have the UHaul and are staying in a hotel (thank God for LaQuinta) until we get the house on Thursday.

We took the dogs to The Garden of the Gods today and hiked/walked for a good hour or more. The dogs loved it (so did we-plan to rock climb here) but it’s apparent that they have regressed in their behaviors due to lack of socialization. They got super excited when they saw other dogs and reacted negatively when smaller dogs growled at them. There weren’t many dog friendly places at our last post so for the past 2 years they didn’t get the opportunity to socialize with other strange dogs. Before that post, we lived in Savannah and they were well socialized (well Chloe, Ranger & Malibu were-Bear wasn’t born yet) because we took them out all the time to parks and on walks downtown. I know that it will take time and patience but I got very frustrated today. The next time that we take them out, I will be wearing the treat pouch and bribe them to get them to behave. Surprisingly the one that did the best was Malibu, our fearful dog. She virtually ignored the other dogs and people too. The one that did the worst was Bear, the coonhound mix. He has a strong prey drive and sees those smaller dogs as prey. I’ll be doing lots of research to find ways to get that under control.

Hiking today made me realize how out of shape and fat I am. Yes, I’m fat. Yeah, I know that some of it is due to the fertility meds but some of it is me. I haven’t been this big since my second year of college. I’ve developed 2 plans to get back into shape-one for if I get a BFP and one for if I get a BFN. Both plans involve daily green smoothies. The BFP plan involves walking and yoga. The BFN plan involves running, weights and rock climbing. Of course I am hoping that I will be doing lots of walking and yoga 😉 My BFN weight loss goal is 20 pounds. My BFP goal is to develop more muscle 🙂

P will also be losing weight over the next couple of months. He is talking about doing a cleanse before he reports to his new unit. After the cleanse, he wants to incorporate green smoothies into his diet and we will both be trying to go vegetarian. There are lots of reasons that we want to try vegetarianism and one of them is general health. I definitely plan to blog about our experience with it.

For now I am going to get to know my new city and surroundings. I feel like moving here is a new start for me and for us. I feel really alive again and it feels great.

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “We are here and I am fat

  1. So glad that you both made it safe and sound. Yea for loving it there! Good luck with the hiking and losing weight!

  2. Reading this post makes me so happy and excited for you!!

    Wishing you well in your new home – and here’s to healthy changes for the better!

    Looking forward to following your vegetarian journey – while we are meat-eaters, I would love to have at least two nights a week where we enjoy meat-free meals. Hopefully you’ll share some recipes! 😉

  3. Glad you made it safe and sound:)
    i hear ya sistah, I have the same get healthy plans.. Minus becoming a vegetarian.

  4. I want to know more about cleanses and green smoothies!

  5. I’m so excited for you! I have loved reading your tweets the last few days as you’ve been traveling and getting excited for your new home. 🙂

    By the way, you are not fat 😛

    I understand wanting to be in better shape though and good luck.

    I just started doing Meatless Mondays on my blog, so we will have to share vegetarian recipes 🙂

  6. Ali

    First — you are not fat :-p

    Second – What the hell is a green smoothie?

  7. I’m with Lisa…You are NOT fat!

    I’m so happy that you are finally in Colorado! I’m hoping that Rocky Mountain air helps to get you pregnant =)

  8. You are not fat! But I still love the BFP walking and yoga plan! That is my goal right now too

    I am so incredibly happy for you that you are finally in Colorado and that you are already loving it so much! Still hoping and praying that your bfp comes this cycle

  9. No inverted poses while ttc, please! Not good for you.

  10. I am so glad you made it out there safely!!!

  11. Congrats on your new surroundings! More photos please! 🙂

    xo B

  12. I’m with the others — SOOOO not fat! If you’re fat, what does that make me???
    But anyways, I’m so happy for you that you’re finally out of that town you hated so much. I remember starting to tweet with you and you were looking forward to this day so much!!
    Also, if you find something that works with your pooches, PLEASE share it with me! You probably have read about my trials and terrors with our pups – so not socialized. Everything outside the threshold of our apartment is a meal. Our boy (Bronx) had his throat bitten out when he was 9mths old by a red-nosed pitty, and he’s taught Atilla his defensive aggressiveness. 😦 Walking them is a HUGE chore.
    I wish you LUCK, happiness, health and a BFP in your new home! ❤

  13. yay! glad you made it there and things sound fantastic! I can’t wait to hear about your BFP plan in action!

Leave a Reply

