Meatless Monday

This is my first Meatless Monday post and I’m excited 🙂 I am trying to eat more vegetarian and less meat (not including seafood-not giving that up). I have toyed with the idea of becoming vegetarian but I seriously love Buffalo Wild Wings so I’ve decided that if I can eat vegetarian the majority of the time then it’s a step in the right direction. Here’s what I ate today:

Breakfast:
2 organic wildberry waffles with a little crunchy peanut butter on them
16 oz of decaf coffee

Throughout the day:
32 oz of Tropical Tango Green Smoothie (recipe to follow)
2 Kashi granola bars
2 boiled eggs
approx 50 oz of water

Supper:
Amy’s organic fire roasted vegetable soup with a can of black beans (drained) added and topped with cheese, sour cream and crushed tortilla chips

We actually had a meatless supper last night as well-salmon burger patties (premade from Whole Foods, think I might make my own some time), garlic & rosemary potatoes and corn 🙂

I am looking forward to finding more yummy vegetarian food and recipe ideas so if you have some, let me know!

Tropical Tango Green Smoothie
1-2 cups fresh pineapple chopped
1 banana
1 cup freshly squeezed orange juice (I cheat and just use organic orange juice)
1 cup water
big handful of greens

I blend the spinach and the water first, then add the rest of the ingredients and blend again until smooth 🙂 This is where I got the smoothie recipe.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Meatless Monday

  1. Great post!! Love it!

    I am a big fan of not getting caught up in all or nothing thinking with being vegetarian. It’s too hard for some people to give up meat everyday forever. And then when people fail at it, they go back to daily meat eating. Instead it makes a lot more sense to do a “most of the time” vegetarian plan. It’s easier to stick with and you don’t end up going back to where you started just b’c you ate meat a couple days.

    The cool thing about having a Whole Foods there is that it’s so much easier to eat vegetarian! So many great vegeetarian and even vegan choices there.

    I have to get around to trying those green smoothies!

  2. I, too, wish I could become a vegetarian. Or even a vegan. But I love chicken too much to become a vegetarian (and an occasional steak!), and I really, really love dairy too much to become a vegan. But I do like the idea of eating less meat. Now if only I could get my hubby on board . . .

  3. I do the mostly vegetarian thing too! I eat seafood and dairy, but just not much (if any) pork, beef or chicken…I feel TONS better when I don’t eat alot of meat, and I get plenty of protein with my greek yogurt and fish. I’m a little worried about whenever I get pregnant though, because there are only very specific fish types that you can eat, and that’s 90% of my protein!

  4. nice menu! and awesome water drinking too!

Leave a Reply

