Meatless Monday (or Wednesday, whatever)

I neglected to write a Meatless Monday post this week. It’s not that I didn’t go meatless-in fact the only day I’ve eaten meat was Saturday, more on that later-but it’s that I don’t really consider macaroni and cheese from a box to be a recipe :-p So I thought I’d talk about we ate the past couple of nights and share a couple af recipes that I want to try in the next week.

Tuesday night we ate a frozen pizza from Kashi. I was not impressed and will stick to eating Amy’s Organic frozen pizzas. I didn’t like the texture of the Kashi crust and I couldn’t seem to get it crispy.

Last night we ate Amy’s Organic black bean soup and I added a few things to it. I added a can of black beans (rinsed and drained) and then topped off each serving with organic sour cream, cheese, salsa and a few Mission tortilla chips. I know that I should probably make my own soups but buying them and then adding a few ingredients to them is so convenient for me. Plus I really love everything that I’ve ever tasted from Amy’s Organic 🙂

Tonight I plan to make shrimp and a frozen side from Alexia-it’s potatoes and some other veggies with seasonings. I might even add in some corn on the cob because I know that P likes that wih seafood.

Last night I was excited to find 2 delicious looking vegetarian recipes when I wasn’t even looking for them. The first one is a lasagna recipe from All Recipes:

Black Bean Lasagna
9 lasagna noodles
1/2 cup chopped onion
1/2 cup chopped red bell pepper
1/2 cup frozen corn kernels, thawed
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1 (15 ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 (16 ounce) can refried black beans
2 3/4 cups canned tomato sauce
1/2 cup salsa
1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro, divided
1 1/2 cups cottage cheese
1 cup ricotta cheese
1/4 cup sour cream
8 ounces Monterey Jack cheese, shredded
1/4 cup sliced ripe olives (I hate olives so I will probably omit these)
8 sprigs fresh cilantro
Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Add pasta and cook for 8 to 10 minutes or until al dente; drain.

Coat a large skillet with non-stick cooking spray, and place over medium heat. Saute onion, red bell pepper, corn and garlic until tender. Stir in black beans, refried beans, tomato sauce, salsa and 1/4 cup cilantro. Cook until heated through and slightly thickened; set aside.

In a large bowl, combine cottage cheese, ricotta, sour cream, shredded Monterey Jack cheese and remaining 1/4 cup chopped cilantro; set aside.

Coat a 9×13 inch casserole dish with non-stick cooking spray. Arrange 3 of the cooked lasagna noodles in the bottom of the dish, cutting to fit if necessary. Spread with 1/3 of the bean mixture, then 1/3 of the cheese mixture. Repeat layers twice more.

Cover, and bake in preheated oven for 45 minutes. Garnish with sliced black olives and sprigs of cilantro.

The second one is a pasts recipe from The Pioneer Woman. LOVE her recipes and her website.

Pasta with Tomato-Bleu Cheese Sauce
1-½ pound Pasta (angel Hair Or Thin Spaghetti)
2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
3 cloves Garlic, Minced
1 whole 28-ounce Can Diced Tomatoes, Drained
Dash Of Sugar
Salt And Freshly Ground Black Pepper, To Taste
Crushed Red Pepper Flakes, To Taste
¾ cups Crumbled Blue Cheese
¾ cups Heavy Cream
4 cups Baby Spinach
Half And Half, For Thinning
Extra Blue Cheese Crumbles, For Garnish

Cook pasta according to package instructions.

In a large skillet over medium heat, add olive oil. When hot, add minced garlic and cook for a minute. Pour in drained tomatoes. Add sugar, salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper to taste. Cook for 10 to 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Reduce heat to low. Stir in crumbled blue cheese. Add cream and stir, then a little splash of half-and-half if sauce is too thick. Cook for a minute or two, tasting and adding more seasonings as needed.
At the very, very, very last minute. toss in spinach. Immediately toss in the cooked and drained pasta. Serve immediately!

Definitely check out TPW’s Cooking site-here’s the link for the pasta recipe. You can see the amazing pictures of the process and the finished product.

Since I’ve been eating vegetarian the majority of the past couple of weeks, I’ve found that I want meat less and less. This past weekend we went to Buffalo Wild Wings, one of our fave places, and I couldn’t finish my wings. The whole eating off a bone thing almost made me sick. It’s weird because I have never felt that way and have been eating wings for many years. I LOVE the taste of buffalo sauce so I might try the boneless next time. I can’t imagine giving it up completely.

I definitely like eating less meat and it seems to be helping in the weight loss department as well. Now excuse while I peruse the internet for more yummy vegetarian meals.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Meatless Monday (or Wednesday, whatever)

  1. I squeezed my Meatless Monday post into the bottom of a post about other stuff this week. 🙂

    Great recipes. Thank you for sharing!!!!

  2. We tried a Kashi pizza and did NOT like it at all either.

    These recipes look fabulous. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Wifey

    Sounds yummy!

  4. Glad we’re not the only ones who didn’t like Kashi pizza…bleh! But we love love LOVE anything by Amy’s Organics!

  5. Your cooking sounds great. I think that if I didn’t have ibs I might try going veggie. I love Amy’s brand stuff. so good.

  6. Pingback: Meatless Monday « Liberal Granola Girl's Blog

  7. Meg

    Have you made the black bean lasagna yet? Sounds really good..let me know how it turns out..I will have to try it:)

  8. I found your blog from the Married to the Army website and have been reading for the past few weeks. I just made the black bean lasagna tonight and it’s awesome! My husband and I are trying to go vegetarian at least 2 days a week but it’s hard to find good recipes. This one was definitely great!

Leave a Reply

