I’m No Longer a Virgin….

a therapy virgin that is. I finished my first therapy session about an hour ago and I loved it. I was so nervous and excited about it right before I went it to meet her. She completely put me at ease and the office was homey, not at all “therapy” feeling. It was like talking to friend the whole time, a friend that was inside my head :-p

I seriously cannot explain how great it felt to talk to someone about the stress of infertility, deployment, IVF, moving, etc. I mean, I love you readers and Tweeters but having a real live person, who has been through infertility (yep, she’s been down that road) and is a trained therapist is truly wonderful. After just one session I no longer feel as overwhelmed with this whole IVF process during deployment. I seriously feel like I can handle it.

If you are going through infertility, deployment, adoption or just feeling overwhelmed I highly recommend therapy. Yes, I know it seems odd for me to recommend it after only one session but I can tell even at this point that I have found the right therapist and that she will be a great help to me.

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “I’m No Longer a Virgin….

  1. Glad you found an awesome therapist. I went to one during my undergrad and I still find myself using some of the same advice he gave me. And that was even with his style (CBT) not being exactly ideal for me at the time—even though he probably was right on. 😉 Hope the subsequent sessions are just as rewarding!! 🙂 Sending you lots of positive vibes gal….

  2. I’m so glad that your session went well. That is really awesome that she has been through infertility as well. Well not awesome for her, but she can understand what your going through. Did you pick her specifically for that?

    • liberalgranolagirl

      My friend, Brittany, actually picked her 😛 Therapist is also a professor of Brittany’s and when Brittany found out that she specializes in infertility counseling, she thought about me and told her about me. Brittany also gave me all the therapist’s contact info so I could set up an appt 🙂

  3. brittanyib

    I’m so glad you had a positive experience with her!

  4. I’m so happy that it went well. I think a great therapist is a must, even for people who think they’ve got it all figured out. Maybe a lot of IF don’t want to talk about it on their blogs but I really believe talking to a therapist is a perfect compliment for anyone struggling with fertility.

  5. Sounds great, I’m glad you had a good session. IF can really beat up on us but add a deployment to that as well, well…its a lot. i’m happy that you’ve found someone you click with.

  6. I am so glad it went well and that you really got a lot out of it (and got a lot off your chest). I can tell you from experience that therapy is totally worth it, no matter what you are going through.

    (((hugs)))

  7. We have been going through infertility treatments for 7 years. And will be having IVF later this year. I see a therapist every other week. I just do not think I could be sane without her. I also have PCOS. It’s horrible 😦 TTC is a nightmare in itself, let alone adding 137841023987541 other things to the list. 😦

    Email me sometime if you want to talk more about it.

    Take care.

  8. A good therapist is a wonderful thing…and how awesome to find one with an infertility background!

  9. AWESOME! AWESOME! AWESOME NEWS! I’m so happy that you found such a wonderful person and feel so good about the experience! xoxo

  10. dee

    Just popping in to say hi. Heard you on the fertility telesummit! I have no less than 3 therapists and I have yet to find one that I completely “gel” with. If you find a good one, hang on to her as they dont come around much!

  11. Gem

    Hi
    We are adopting, it is really slow process in Australia, my hsuband is currently on deployment, its tough, especially when all of the events put on at the base are family fun events – rubs it in a bit!
    Gemx

  12. Waiting Lisa

    I am so glad it went well. If I could afford it, I would definitely be going.

  13. I’m so glad you’ve done this. I am just now realizing how much infertility has really messed me up. I think having this relationship established will also make pregnancy (WHEN that happens) at lot easier, I’ve really been having a hard time. You rock!

Leave a Reply

