It’s All Really Happening

We had an IVF consultation today with Dr. G from CCRM. Seriously love this RE. He was full of smiles, information and laughed at my husband’s twisted sense of humor. He and the nurse also wrote out notes for us so that I didn’t have to take my own notes πŸ™‚ So here is what it going to happen in the monitoring cycle:
-Call the office on CD1 to schedule testing.
-CD2 or 3, have tests for the following levels: estradiol, FSH, LH and AMH
-Between CD5 and 13 I’ll have the following tests: baseline u/s (resting follicle count and looking for any abnormalities), hysteroscopy, dopplers (to check the blood flow to my uterus; no caffeine for 72 hrs prior); more blood work; meet with RE and IVF nurse to discuss the protocol for me (already told me that I can use my left over Follistim).
-Also, I’ll need to have a pap smear, annual exam (with breast exam), CBC, TSH, rubella, varicella and blood typing done locally. Yeah, I need to find an OB/GYN like tomorrow.
-P will having a repeat SA, including a check for antisperm antibodies and a culture. He will also be freezing his swimmers on 2 other occasions.
-I also have to be tested for cystic fibrosis and spinal muscular dystrophy.

After the monitoring cycle it’s GAME ON! I’ll stim for 9-14 days and undergo monitoring during that time (like I’ll be driving to Denver every 1-3 days). Next will be the egg retrieval and ICSI with P’s frozen swimmers (he’ll be in the sandbox). We will be doing a Day 5 transfer and we will be transferring 2 and then freezing the rest (yes, I am being optimistic that we will have several good embies). They use a “flash freeze” (my words, not his-can’t remember exactly what he said) which improves the FET pregnancy rate (NOT live birth rate) to 70%, which is the same pregnancy chance we’ll have with the fresh IVF cycle. By transferring 2 on Day 5, we’ll have a 70% chance of pregnancy and a 30-40% chance of twins (YES!)

Now, for the things that I can’t do once I start stimming 😦 No caffeine, alcohol, smoking (I’m only occasional now), high impact aerobics (no running-only walking and have to modify Zumba. I also have to cut out the protein powder (since it’s not regulated) and of course keep taking the prenatals. P also has to quit the supplements, nicotine and alcohol before he does his part.

One of the reasons that I really like Dr. G is that he was optimistic but realistic and spelled out all the risks involved to me and baby(ies). He didn’t promise a miracle but said that based on all of our records we have a good chance of getting pregnant with IVF. I feel much more optimistic and relaxed now. I am actually excited about doing IVF, even if I’ll be doing it while P is away. Now just have to find some friends to accompany me to and from the egg transfer and actual IVF procedure.

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “It’s All Really Happening

  1. So excited for you – good luck!

  2. FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Jen

    You’re so lucky to be at CCRM! Crossing my fingers for you!

  4. Such exciting news!! Good luck!!

  5. SO excited for you!!! Good luck and I have everything crossed. πŸ™‚

  6. so excited that you’re heading toward this next step. *fingers crossed* this is it! πŸ™‚

  7. Wonderful news!! And can’t wait to see even more wonderful news on here, very very soon!!

  8. That’s wonderful!
    Am in the middle of IUI, so I am kind of doing it with you..
    lots of love and blessings
    Heather

  9. Meg

    Soo happy for a great dr and for you to be able to start this path! Thinking of you and praying you feel well through this process:)

  10. Yea for the great meeting and getting the go ahead! Sounds like you are going in a great direction. Can’t wait for you πŸ™‚

  11. Good luck! It’s awesome to finally have a plan in place. Don’t worry about giving a few things up while stimming – you’ll have to give them up for the pregnancy too. My fingers are crossed for you.

  12. Hi Becca,

    We both presented at the Fertility Focus Telesummit! I’d like to send you an email but can’t find ‘contact’ link on your blog.

    Please email me at iva(at)natural-fertility-prescription.com

    Thanks!

    Iva

  13. You are in very good hands. I cycled there and they really do deserve the amazing reputation they have. Let me know if you need any guidance while cycling there.

Leave a comment