Allowing myself to get excited about motherhood

Ever since I talked with SIL’s caseworker, I’ve been allowing to get myself excited about motherhood. I have been looking at furniture and bedding for kids’ rooms. I am looking around the house and thinking of what all needs to be baby proofed. I’m talking to the furbabies about having 2 toddlers in the house. I’ve been looking at pics of S and D millions of times a day, picturing them here with us and running around the house.

At this moment I am looking for crib bedding for each of them. I’ve already looked at outfits at BabyGap (in love with the American in Paris collections for boys and girls). I am so ready for motherhood. Like, for real. And not just the shopping and decorating parts of motherhood. I am ready for all of it.

It’s weird, I was having second thoughts and some minor freak outs about motherhood; but those all melted away once I saw their pictures. I mean, I’m still nervous but I’m not unsure any more. I know that we can handle it. I know that no matter what happens as far as parenting challenges, we can do it. I already love them. I already can’t wait to take them to BWW to meet my friends and introduce them to sports. I look forward to taking them to local parks and watching them experience their first snow.

If something happens and we don’t get them, my heart will break into a million pieces. I am ready for motherhood but I am not ready for my heart to be shattered.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Allowing myself to get excited about motherhood

  1. I am so happy for you. I cannot wait until they are in your arms and in your loving home!!

    ❤ you

  2. Sara

    Oh, I am so excited that this seems to be happening for real! I will send good vibes your way.

  3. I popped over to your site from Courtney Peek’s blog. My husband and I are starting the adoption process after 3 years of infertility and a horrible loss.

    I’d love to get to know you!!

    You can find my on Twitter at A_Twitmasek (however) I don’t understand Twitter AT ALL! I like to say I’m Twitarded.

    I’m also on FB and I hope you’ll follow our adoption blog!!

  4. emily511

    I’m excited for you! And baby clothes!

  5. You are going to be a FANTASTIC mommy. A lot of it is instinct. Probably it would be good to read up on issues specific to kids that are adopted. There is a lot you can do to mediate bonding and attachement. I am more than happy to send you some literature or talk about it. I am so excited for you guys!!!

    • liberalgranolagirl

      I would LOVE to get my hands on some literature about that! I am concerned about RAD with S, my niece, and definitely want to focus on bonding with both of them. Thank you so much!

  6. I think you can get excited now!!
    Best wishes,
    Heather

Leave a Reply

