Meatless Monday

Today’s Meatless Monday is courtesy of my friend Sara at The Baby P Journey and the original recipe is found here. I cannot wait to try this tonight! I will be using frozen corn (because it’s what I have) and will probably add cumin to the recipe (because I love it). My plan is to make this tonight and then use the filling to serve over rice and in tacos later in the week 🙂

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas
Ingredients

2 teaspoons olive oil
3 tablespoons finely chopped onion
1 (15.5 ounce) can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 (10 ounce) can whole kernel corn, drained
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1/4 cup salsa
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
2 tablespoons butter, divided
8 (8 inch) flour tortillas
1 1/2 cups shredded Monterey Jack cheese, divided

Directions:

Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Stir in onion, and cook until softened, about 2 minutes. Stir in beans and corn, then add sugar, salsa, and pepper flakes; mix well. Cook until heated through, about 3 minutes.
Melt 2 teaspoons of the butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Place a tortilla in the skillet, sprinkle evenly with cheese, then top with some of the bean mixture. Place another tortilla on top, cook until golden, then flip and cook on the other side. Repeat with remaining tortillas and filling.

ETA-The verdict, this is delicious but I suck at making quesadillas look pretty when I do them on a stove top 😀 I added an extra 1/4 cup of salsa and cumin to taste. I served it topped with more salsa (love that stuff) and sour cream. AWESOME.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Meatless Monday

  1. Sounds yummy! We’ve got to start trying this meatless Monday here too! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  2. oh yummm i can’t wait to try this!

  3. brittanyib

    You should get a quesadilla maker! My friend has one and it’s awesome, the simplest thing ever. I can’t imagine trying to do it on a stove top.

  4. I just stumbled across your blog while searching for Meatless Monday recipes. From the looks of your tag cloud we have a lot in common – adoption, deployment, endometriosis, fertility challenges, infertility, IUI, meatless monday, military, milspouse, vegetarian. I’m an AF wife. We have been TTC for four years and are now considering adoption, but that’s another story.

    I’m really here because I host a Meatless Monday flickr group and Midnight Maniac Meatless Mondays blog carnival. I would love to have your Meatless Monday photos added to the group and welcome you to link your Meatless Monday blog posts to the carnival. The first carnival starts on October 4. Hope you will join and help spread the Meatless Monday movement!

    ♥ Rebecca Jean
    Midnight Maniac

Leave a Reply

