I’m ok, you’re ok

This week I have been saddened by the suicides of gay teens that I have seen in the media. When I was in college a friend committed suicide. I remember the pain, the years of blaming myself and the dysfunctional ways that I dealt with all of it. No, he wasn’t gay but he was in pain and he felt alone. No one should feel that way.

One of my best friends is an amazing gay man, J, that I dearly love. I cannot imagine not knowing him. I am so thankful that he has an amazing mother and that he is one of my dearest friends.

One of my best couple friends are bi. They are amazing. She helped me through so many shitty nights in Louisiana. Her husband is hilarious, smart and they are both welcoming-like “let you shack with them any time no matter what” welcoming. She’s also a hell of a cook.

Hatred and bullying is WRONG.

No one should feel that they are worthless and need to die.

No one should EVER make anyone feel worthless.

We need more ACCEPTANCE in this world and fewer judgmental attitudes.

I will teach our children that all people are worthy of life and happiness.

I will teach our children that differences are good and that life would be boring if we were all the same.

I will teach my children that bullying is WRONG and that they should try to stop it when they witness it.

I will teach my children that their father and I will always love them, no matter what, and that however alone they ever feel, they can always talk to me, any time of the day or night. No judgment will be passed on whatever it is that they say.

I will teach my children that Gay Is Ok.

Gay is OK

Suicide is the 3rd leading cause of death of young people.

That is not Ok.

Please, if you are reading this and thinking of suicide, know that you are worthy and that you are not alone. Please, please call 1-800-suicide and talk to someone.

Some links:
A Whole Lot of Nothing. Love her blog and her cause.
To Write Love On Her Arms
Human Rights Campaign
It Gets Better

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “I’m ok, you’re ok

  1. I agree with everything you have said here 130% and I couldn’t have said any of it any better!

    We so SO need more acceptance in this world, big time!

  2. Nikki

    I could not agree with you more! I wish everybody could open their eyes and see what hatred does.

  3. AGREE!!!!! I lived in the Castro in San Francisco and have many gay friends and it breaks my heart that there are places in AMERICA where it’ still not safe to be gay…..like in the Military.

    *sigh*

  4. I’m heartbroken by all the hatred in this world. The best way we can combat it is to teach our children compassion and love for ALL people.

  5. Jess

    I will never understand the intolerance.

    I left a church once solely because of the hatred spewing from the pulpit.

    I teach my children to love and respect everyone no matter what beliefs you have.

    Everyone deserves at least that much.

  6. Pingback: Gay is OK | A Whole Lot of Nothing

  7. MichelleS

    I totally agree 100%. The recent suicides really need to be a wakeup call for all of us. I will never understand the kind of hatred it takes for someone to bully someone so badly that it drives them to suicide. It’s heartbreaking. It doesn’t matter what you believe in or what sexual orientation you are, your life matters.

  8. emily511

    I agree whole heartedly. It makes me so sad to think of all the people out there who feel they have no other option. And it makes me ANGRY that there are others who push them to suicidal ideation.

    Another note, there are twice as many suicides than homicides in this country. Which means hateful words are more powerful hateful actions would be. Words DO matter.

  9. THANK YOU for posting this. I keep reading about that Rutgers student, and it makes me cry to think about how badly those two people hurt him. Why can’t we all just love each other?

  10. Great post. I hope that our next generation is more tolerant than the previous. I like to think that we’ve come a long way as a society, but sometimes I’m not so sure. I hope that any struggling teen (gay or straight) who may read this (or other similar blogs) realizes that there are options available.

    Hubby and I have already talked about what to do if our Progeny is gay. We don’t care, but what will we have to do to protect him from society? I pray that the world soon sees that people are people are people, regardless of sex, sexual orientation, colour, religion, or age.

  11. Hey! New reader here, and I have a feeling you’re a local. 😉 Thank you for sharing these sentiments, I definitely share them. I’m another pregnancy-challenged Army wife, so I look forward to following your blog!

  12. What a great post! I think every parent should teach their children acceptance of everyone.

  13. The good news is the next generation doesnt seem to give a crap about people’s sexuality. My girls know, think, and believe that men and women can love who ever they want. Hatred is taught. So is fear. We have same sex couples as friends. Even our smallest children dont think anything is stranger about same sex people loving each other.

    good post

Leave a Reply

